We Proudly Serve Clients In Philadelphia | Bensalem | Doylestown | Allentown

As a Law Firm Practicing in Criminal Law, Personal Injury and Family Law

Available 24/7
215-245-8222

Can You Get a PA License if You’re Suspended in Another State?

A driver’s license may seem like a technicality. After all, you’re an experienced driver, and you have places to go. Unfortunately, as criminal defense attorneys, we know how a driver’s license suspension can create big problems. 

You may wonder if you can get a Pennsylvania license if you have a suspension in another state. It’d be so much easier to just get a new license than spend the time and money to clear up the old suspension. Unfortunately, you must address the suspension in the other state. If you’re facing a license suspension, the best thing to do is to address the situation directly with experienced criminal defense attorneys in Philadelphia. 

Can I get a Pennsylvania license if I’m suspended in another state?

No. You cannot get a Pennsylvania license if you’re suspended in another state. Most states share driver’s license information. Pennsylvania will not issue a license if there is a current suspension in another state.

Can I have more than one driver’s license in Pennsylvania?

Pennsylvania law 75 § 1501(c) prohibits people from having more than one driver’s license at any time. To receive a valid license, each person must surrender any license they have from another state. There is a limited exception for nonresident commercial driver’s licenses.

Is driving on a suspended license a serious offense in Pennsylvania?

The seriousness of a driving on a suspended license charge in Pennsylvania depends on the circumstances of the offense. It’s always best to work with an experienced criminal defense attorney to address the charges. Any conviction goes on your record, and requires you to pay a fine. In addition, it can impact employment opportunities especially for jobs that require a valid license.

For a basic driving on a suspended license charge, a conviction is a summary offense punishable by a fine. However, if your license is suspended because of a drunk driving offense, you face a minimum 60 days in jail and a minimum $500 fine. In addition, a charge of driving on a DUI suspension results in an additional one-year suspension.

Driving on a suspended license can create a cycle that is hard to break. Fines can be difficult to pay. Additional suspension periods can make it challenging to ever get a license back. Mandatory jail periods can prevent you from working.

What to do if you are charged with driving on a suspended license

If you’re caught driving on a suspended license, the consequences can be serious. However, there are things that you can do to fight back against the charges. Our lawyers can help.

The state has to prove the charges against you. It isn’t always easy for them. They have to present the paperwork that your license was suspended. They must admit the information in a way that follows legal procedures. Our criminal defense attorneys in Philadelphia help people fight suspended license charges. 

Build Your Suspended License Case Today

 Our criminal defense attorneys in Philadelphia can help you defend yourself against a charge of driving on a suspended license. Contact our team at Applebaum & Associates today to talk about your case.

Call for a Free Consultation 24/7 with Our Attorney

Call us for free consultation!

215-245-8222

Back to Blog

Bensalem Office

Fax: 215-245-4280

© 2022 Applebaum & Associates
All Rights Reserved
|Privacy Policy | Sitemap